Home Exclusive Champions League: Group of Death awaits?

Champions League: Group of Death awaits?

0

Inter will be in Pot 1 for the 2021/22 UEFA Champions League draw. The draw ceremony will begin at 6PM CET on Thursday 26 August.

After winning the Scudetto, Inter are now awaiting a very hard group stage draw from the first pot. The likelihood of facing some very strong teams are on the cards.

Possible oppositions by Pots –

Pot 2: Real Madrid, Barcelona, Manchester United, PSG, Liverpool, Sevilla and Borussia Dortmund
Pot 3: FC Porto, Ajax, RB Leipzig, Benfica, Zenit, Shakhtar Donetsk, Salzburg
Pot 4: Besiktas, Dynamo Kiev, Club Brugge, Young Boys, Malmo, Wolfsburg, Sheriff Tiraspol

As we know, we cannot be grouped with Juventus (Pot 2), Atalanta (Pot 3) and AC Milan (Pot 4) since no team from the same country can be in the same group.

Times to watch the coverage – 

Based on 6PM CET, this will be the times to tune in or wake up in your region.

UK (BST) – 5pm Thursday August 26th
US (CDT) – 11am Thursday August 26th
Australia (EST) – 2am Friday August 27th
New Zealand (NZST) – 4am Friday August 27th
China (CST) – 12am Friday August 27th
UAE (GMT+4) – 8PM Thursday August 26th
GMT – 4PM Thursday August 26th

Preferred Group – 

Although there are no “easy” groups in the Champions League, a group similar to the below may be more fortunate for Inter.

Inter – Sevilla – Zenit – Dynamo Kiev

Sevilla are a fantastic team, and did win the Europa League last season. However, out of all the teams listed in Pot 2, I think Sevilla would be a rival we can get maximum points from. Not saying they are easy, but our chances comparing Sevilla to the others in Pot 2 is better. At least a win at home and draw away.

Zenit are the reigning Russian Champions, but I can’t see Zenit overpowering Inter. Especially since Zenit play a 4-2-2-2, I see Inzaghi’s formational advantage as the midfield would be Inter’s way of exhibiting dominance in these matches.

Dynamo Kiev are included here just because of the friendly which took place just over a week ago. A dominant 3-0 win to Inter on a neutral ground so all would point to a victory for Inter in this matchup. Wolfsburg are probably the only team in Pot 4 which worries me, as all the rest are opposition Inter should comfortably dominate.

As always, Forza Inter!